1. The Turbo Forums - The discussion board for both hard core and beginner turbocharged vehicle enthusiasts. Covering everything from stock turbocharger cars, seriously fast drag racers, boats, motorcycles, and daily driver modified turbo cars and trucks.
    To start posting in our forums, and comment on articles and blogs please

IF YOU ARE AN EXISTING MEMBER: You can retrieve your a password for your account here: click here.

What to set base timming at?

Discussion in 'EFI Tuning Questions and Engine Management' started by forbanger, May 27, 2008.

1. forbanger

Quick question. I have a chip I am running that is set to 15deg timming on WOT. Is it best to set base timming at 10deg.
    I am kind of new to this and right now the car is idling funny with the base timming is set at 6deg.

Thanks!

2. The Notch

Yes, set base at 10 spout connector out!

3. forbanger

Thanks for the reply!

You mean take it out then set it then put it back in, right?

4. Millhouse

If tune you speak of was done with a base timing of 6*, you will change your entire tune by adding to it. If you change your timing to 10* advanced you will effectively add 4* total timing across the whole tune'¦which means that 15* timing at WOT goes to 19*.

5. forbanger

I am lost. Car has 2 pointers on it. Do I use the lower pointer with the eye hole or the top one that has an edge?
    The reason I want to mess with the base timming is because it got adjusted and now the car doesn't idle right. It jumps between 500 and 1000rpm.
    I have it set to 10 deg at the lower pointer with the round eye hole and it sits perfectly at 1000rpm. I think it is sitting too high. should it be at around 850rpm's?

6. Millhouse

Use the flat edge, not the eye hole. After your done, unplug the battery for 15 minutes to reset the computer.

7. forbanger

Thnaks Millhouse! I will try that and update on how it turns out.

8. forbanger

Well that didn't work. At 10deg base the car feels like it is struglling to stay alive.