1. The Turbo Forums - The discussion board for both hard core and beginner turbocharged vehicle enthusiasts. Covering everything from stock turbocharger cars, seriously fast drag racers, boats, motorcycles, and daily driver modified turbo cars and trucks.
    To start posting in our forums, and comment on articles and blogs please

IF YOU ARE AN EXISTING MEMBER: You can retrieve your a password for your account here: click here.

Weird electrical problem

Discussion in 'Non-Turbo Tech questions' started by yellowpony, Jan 2, 2011.

1. yellowpony

I am wiring in my new hp efi system, and for some reason, when I turn the key to run, it does not prime the pump. It is set to prime for 3 seconds. The problem is, when I go to shut the power off, the pump turns ON! Is this an issue of a bad relay? It is the same relay that I had with the xfi, and it worked fine, but has been a few months since I went to use it. I am not very good with electrical gremlins, can anyone shed some light on this? Bad relay?

Anthony

2. 1sicpny

how is the battery, this would happen on my old fast system when the battery was down.

3. yellowpony

You know, of all the stuff I checked, I didnt check that! Good call man! I will do that!

Anthony

4. Nosman

Is the relay a 4 prong or 5? If it's a 5, you may have the pump connected to 87A instead of 87, and 87A is a normally closed contact I believe.

5. 1sicpny

Hey Anthony another issue I had when I first did my fast
    system. Where I had my 12 volt switch power it would lose volts
    when I turn the key on. This also caused the same problem.

6. yellowpony