1. The Turbo Forums - The discussion board for both hard core and beginner turbocharged vehicle enthusiasts. Covering everything from stock turbocharger cars, seriously fast drag racers, boats, motorcycles, and daily driver modified turbo cars and trucks.
    To start posting in our forums, and comment on articles and blogs please

IF YOU ARE AN EXISTING MEMBER: You can retrieve your a password for your account here: click here.

Rear Gear ratio for a turbo street car

Discussion in 'Suspension, Chassis and Tire Tech' started by Mike74grem, Jan 18, 2013.

1. Mike74grem

Hey Guys, I was wondering if someone could shed some light on choosing a rear gear for a turbo car. Ive seen tons of guys running 3.00- 3.08 gears, some with 3.23-3.55 etc, seems like the higher ratios are where its at for turbo cars. Is there a way to determine what ratio will work best for a certain combination? Ive said it before that this is my first turbo car so im still learning the ways of the wise. I grew up around raunchy cammed NA motors with 4.10-4.56 gears and were terrible street cars.

I picked up an 8.8 ford rear end with a 3.27 gear, i was planning on trying that ratio out to start off and keep costs down. Im just worried about it being a dog off the line with a 28" tire and a TH350 with a 3500 converter.

2. Turbo Drag Radial

any turbo car will be a dog down low. Two ways to fix this....t-brake or NOS.

Gearing is all about the 1/4 mph that you think the car will run.

What RPM do you plan to cross at?

3. sn 95guy

I have the 3.27 in a 28" tire in my mustang, on my stocklongblock 5.0 it's great.. Not too laggy and still breaks it loose nice on the 555r dr's

4. yellowlt1ta

5. Mike74grem