1. The Turbo Forums - The discussion board for both hard core and beginner turbocharged vehicle enthusiasts. Covering everything from stock turbocharger cars, seriously fast drag racers, boats, motorcycles, and daily driver modified turbo cars and trucks.
    To start posting in our forums, and comment on articles and blogs please

IF YOU ARE AN EXISTING MEMBER: You can retrieve your a password for your account here: click here.

Wastegate issues,38MM Tial

Discussion in 'Newbie and Basic Turbo Tech Forum' started by Iskwezm, Nov 4, 2009.

1. Iskwezm

I dont drive my car, mainly becasue i have a issue that i havent cared to fix. My boost is supposed to be about 9-11 psi. Im seeing about 15-17+. I dont know where it maxs at bacause i let off. I am a turbo noob, but im getting really good at replacing head gaskets :bang: Its a little frustrating to see all you guys making good numbers and able to make full passes at the strip and mine has to be babied and cant even go WOT for fear of blowing it again.Im also thinking of ditching my carb soon and going with a Powerjection3 or FAST set up.Wheni first contacted Tial, they said to use a 60MM now its 44mm??? Any ideas?

My email to Tial
    I have a 38MM wastegate/50MM BOV on my 65 Mustang with a 349 and 70MM turbo. I wanted to run about 9-11 psi. When it was dynoed, I was seeing about 11-12 psi, so it was tuned for that. I have been having issues where the boost is seeing about 15-17 psi, it has been this way for a couple of years. I have contacted several dealers and they all say a 38MM is fine for this application and that's what they sell on similar combos. Many of the racers also use this same size. What is causing my spike? My turbo kit builder has since stop using your product because 3 engine with the same part have the same issues from excessive boost. I have what looks to be a small blue blue spring which should be the 8.9 psi spring. Is this part defective or what is wrong with this combination.

their responce: