1. The Turbo Forums - The discussion board for both hard core and beginner turbocharged vehicle enthusiasts. Covering everything from stock turbocharger cars, seriously fast drag racers, boats, motorcycles, and daily driver modified turbo cars and trucks.
    To start posting in our forums, and comment on articles and blogs please

IF YOU ARE AN EXISTING MEMBER: You can retrieve your a password for your account here: click here.

Single turbo V6 design?

Discussion in 'Turbo Tech Questions' started by Brittbikeguy2000, Jan 4, 2018.

1. Brittbikeguy2000

Hello TTF world,

I am planning on building a single turbo 5VZ-FE, "Toyo 3.4l V6". I am only a novice precision fabricator and my custom-header experience thus far is limited to very basic 2-cyl motorcycle arrangements. Every single turbo V6 set up I see has very complex/very difficult to make headers that are way out of my league, especially without a mandrel bender.

My question is, why can't I run the turbo at the header collecter junction or later, and plumb the boost back up to the intake manifold?

I know it would be hell on a stock pair of headers, but really? Are there some laws of thermal expansion That would prevent me from doing this that I am missing or something,, I'm sure somebody on this forum is laughing at my noob question.. Lol. Please learn me

Thanks...

2. tbird

Do it. It works

3. B E N

Stock manifolds work great for turbo applications. If you are set on making your own manifolds just make some simple log style headers that suit your needs.

There are a multitude of stock manifold builds on this forum, start reading and enjoy.

flyinhillbilly likes this.
  4. Brittbikeguy2000

Wow,, I am surprised. I expected my idea to get shot down. I will read up on stock manifold builds. Thanks soo much for your input!!!. I will keep you guys posted on my project..

5. Forcefed86