1. The Turbo Forums - The discussion board for both hard core and beginner turbocharged vehicle enthusiasts. Covering everything from stock turbocharger cars, seriously fast drag racers, boats, motorcycles, and daily driver modified turbo cars and trucks.
    To start posting in our forums, and comment on articles and blogs please

IF YOU ARE AN EXISTING MEMBER: You can retrieve your a password for your account here: click here.

v8 Turbo plumbing?

Discussion in 'Turbo Tech Questions' started by BrandonA., Dec 22, 2018.

1. BrandonA.

Hello all I am fairly new to using turbos. I added one to a 4 cylinder Isuzu impulse ten years ago with success but now I would like to add one to a V8 motor in my international scout. My question is this:

-do both exhaust manifolds need to run through the turbo on a V8 motor or is only 1 side needed to run through the turbo while the other exhaust bank can be run out like it normally would be without a turbo?

-The only reason I am asking this is it appears that the 70's "Macho T/A" trans am came with a turbo on the 400 V8 with just one exhaust bank running to the turbo so I was wondering what the positives and negatives are to plumbing the turbo with just one exhaust manifold vs. both?

THanks !!! Sorry if this is a dumb question but I need to formulate a plan before starting!!!!

2. 91turboterror

On a single turbo system both banks of a V engine supply the the exhaust to the turbo. On a twin turbo system one bank per turbo .

3. Mnlx

This has been discussed here a few times, and the short answer is that you want it fed by both banks.

4. Bad Medicine Racing

I don't think the macho ta was turbocharged. It was just a tuned up 400 with headers.

5. 91turboterror

There was an option for a turbo system on the macho TA. A single turbo supplied by one bank isn’t a good idea. Saab did it which was a crap design.

Last edited: Dec 25, 2018
  6. Bad Medicine Racing