1. The Turbo Forums - The discussion board for both hard core and beginner turbocharged vehicle enthusiasts. Covering everything from stock turbocharger cars, seriously fast drag racers, boats, motorcycles, and daily driver modified turbo cars and trucks.
    To start posting in our forums, and comment on articles and blogs please

IF YOU ARE AN EXISTING MEMBER: You can retrieve your a password for your account here: click here.

New to engine building needing help with turbo selection.

Discussion in 'LS1, LS2, LS6, LT1, SBC Turbo and other GM Specfic Turbo Tech' started by Jnelson76, Oct 22, 2020.

1. Jnelson76

Hello everyone, I am very new to building motors I have always worked on cars with my dad but nothing more than maybe a leaking valve cover gasket is all we ever done on a motor, So within the last 7 months I have been reading as much as I possibly could but it never seems like I will ever understand a motor completely. Within the first couple months of my decision to do this I bought several part thinking I was just going to build a motor and while buying and accumulating this I read more and more into engine building and almost none of the parts matched. (example I bought standard bore pistons and found out the used block that I bought would have to bored at least .030 over, bought a super high duration camshaft for my truck which was a 1976 k20 with 36” tires and ect.) so since then I have slowed way down and done an ample amount of research. sold the truck and bought a 1979 olds cutlass, And have decided to go for a twin turbo build, I have built a Holley 4150 750cfm double pumper that I converted into a blow through with a very lengthy and detail how to guide, I have bought a Weiand Single plain intake manifold, Forged .040 dished piston they are 15cc dished, set of 461 camel hump head 62cc and am using a metal gasket with a compressed thickness of .051”, I have bought cxracing t04e 50mm twin turbo set up, I will be building a Oldsmobile 12 bolt with