1. The Turbo Forums - The discussion board for both hard core and beginner turbocharged vehicle enthusiasts. Covering everything from stock turbocharger cars, seriously fast drag racers, boats, motorcycles, and daily driver modified turbo cars and trucks.
    To start posting in our forums, and comment on articles and blogs please

IF YOU ARE AN EXISTING MEMBER: You can retrieve your a password for your account here: click here.

Traction? Tire recommendations

Discussion in 'Non-Turbo Tech questions' started by 98firebird, Oct 9, 2012.

1. 98firebird

Right now I'm only learning and watching what others are doing with their projects and picking up techniques. Anyhow, when I begin and finish my RWD project, I hope to have around 750-850hp at the wheels. My suspension will be a street/autocross type setup. I don't plan on taking the car to the drag strip much if at all. The weight may be around 3200-3400 with me in it. The rear tires will be 315/35/17 on an 11" wheel. I really hope to get traction at 30mph and up. The car will be driven "daily" on highways, so I hope to get around 10-20k miles on them.

I would really like to keep all 4 tires matching, I'd prefer not to have to get radials or slicks. I've used the Goodyear Eagle F1 GS D3 before on the same car with little whp, the driveability and autocross traction was superb. I don't want to spend $900 on 2 315's in this size if it's just going to be spun away easily. What do you recommend? Examples (your setup) would be awesome...

~G

2. Disney Lincoln

Nothing short of a drag radial will hook your 800whp car on the street. Even that will be sketchy as hell unless you've got a good drag set up, which you say you won't. Sounds like your best bet will be to get a good boost controller and dial it way back for street settings.

3. TT_05_Stang

I run a Nitto DR 305 45 17's and they hold my power in a stick... but mine weighs a little more... closer to 3900 with me in it

You would want more sidewall, and a DR