1. The Turbo Forums - The discussion board for both hard core and beginner turbocharged vehicle enthusiasts. Covering everything from stock turbocharger cars, seriously fast drag racers, boats, motorcycles, and daily driver modified turbo cars and trucks.
    To start posting in our forums, and comment on articles and blogs please

IF YOU ARE AN EXISTING MEMBER: You can retrieve your a password for your account here: click here.

building bottom end for turbo

Discussion in 'Ford Modular Forum' started by blackvenom, Apr 2, 2009.

1. blackvenom

Hey guys i'm new to the site! i've got a 96 cobra with basic bolt-ons and want to put together a stout bottom end for my turbo kit i'm gonna build! I'm new to the internal side of things and i need some suggestions on what kind of rods and pistons to put in it, compression ratio that safe to run, if i should replace or do anything once i've got the motor torn down(oil pump, water pump, timing chain) what size turbo i should run, should i have head work done, aftermarket cams, what kinda power numbers i can expect and just any basic info on building a rock solid bottom end and turbo kit! open to all suggestions! any info is greatly appreciated!

thanks
    branden

2. SHOWTIME!!

8:5 compression would be ideal. You should check out Modular Mustang Racing. They have great quality of parts and have good deals on products. They are a forum member so just hit them up, they will hook you up! Welcome to the forums BTW.

3. blackvenom

thanks bro!

4. SHOWTIME!!

No problem broski

If it was me, I would get the MMR oil pump with teflon coated gears, I would go with a 70mm. I would put custom MMR turbo cams in it and have the heads ported. The MMR 900 pro mod stroker kit is f-in sweet. As you can tell i like the MMR products. If you get on "the builds" forum, there is a budget DOHC turbo build going on right now. That would be a good place to get some info from. Be sure and keep us updated with pics and info on the build.