1. The Turbo Forums - The discussion board for both hard core and beginner turbocharged vehicle enthusiasts. Covering everything from stock turbocharger cars, seriously fast drag racers, boats, motorcycles, and daily driver modified turbo cars and trucks.
    To start posting in our forums, and comment on articles and blogs please

IF YOU ARE AN EXISTING MEMBER: You can retrieve your a password for your account here: click here.

SBF with programmable ignition

Discussion in 'EFI Tuning Questions and Engine Management' started by blue-boost, Jun 23, 2018.

1. blue-boost

Just seeing if anyone else is running an MSD 6530 ignition on their turbo SBF. I'm completely new to the MSD software. I just want a timing curve, boost retard, start retard, tips or tricks, ect....to start by, then dial it in to my combo. Any help would be greatly appreciated. thanks.

2. ttpinto

I ran locked timing at 28 and pulled one degree per psi to start nice and soft. Then tune from there. Might even start softer with your base timing to dial in your afr if you don't know where your at.

I ran no start retard with it locked at 32.

3. blue-boost

Ok just got the software downloaded. Does my laptop need to be hooked up to the MSD box to make changes? Seems like incomplete software. I'm used to Tweecer RT, I could build tunes in my house then go to the car and load them.

4. blue-boost

I'm making a boost curve on the MSD 6530, I plan on pulling 1° per 1psi, and not pull any timing until 3psi. Do I go ahead at pull 3° at the 3psi, or pull only 1° and curve it back to a 1:1 ratio by 5psi?

5. ttpinto

Id start one to one and see what the car likes and plugs look like. Timing will kill it quick.

6. blue-boost

Thanks that's what I have programed 1:1 right now. I'm changing my thermostat tonight to try to get this engine to build some heat, then try to go make a good pull. I did a 5mi cruise and it didn't get above 120°

7. blue-boost