1. The Turbo Forums - The discussion board for both hard core and beginner turbocharged vehicle enthusiasts. Covering everything from stock turbocharger cars, seriously fast drag racers, boats, motorcycles, and daily driver modified turbo cars and trucks.
    To start posting in our forums, and comment on articles and blogs please

IF YOU ARE AN EXISTING MEMBER: You can retrieve your a password for your account here: click here.

Using a turbo as a compressor (unusual application)

Discussion in 'Advanced Tech Section' started by elwesso, Dec 12, 2016.

1. elwesso

Hi guys- nice forum you have here.

I have a very unique and unusual application for a turbocharger. After I read through some stuff here, it seems like this community would definitely be able to help, and I have a pretty good idea of what I'm doing (engineer by trade)...

I am designing a system that requires fairly low pressure air (15-30 PSI). Ultimately I am going to be raising the temperature of the air (to heat another process downstream), so I can use the natural inefficiency of compressing air to raise the temperature. Part of this process already uses an engine, but I don't intend on using the compressed air from the turbocharger to the engine (but use it somewhere else). Basically what I want to do is recover the otherwise "wasted" energy from the engines exhaust to drive this compressor.

The engine runs at a fixed speed (3600 RPM), and the engine is approx. 1.0L in displacement (twin cylinder, air cooled).

From an application stand-point, I don't see any reason why this wouldn't work fine.. The turbocharger's compressor doesn't care if the air goes into the engine or somewhere else.