1. The Turbo Forums - The discussion board for both hard core and beginner turbocharged vehicle enthusiasts. Covering everything from stock turbocharger cars, seriously fast drag racers, boats, motorcycles, and daily driver modified turbo cars and trucks.
    To start posting in our forums, and comment on articles and blogs please

IF YOU ARE AN EXISTING MEMBER: You can retrieve your a password for your account here: click here.

Rotax 1503 turbocharging for 20k ft

Discussion in 'Newbie and Basic Turbo Tech Forum' started by Cozy Mark IV, Aug 2, 2019.

1. Cozy Mark IV

Hello all!

I'm new to turbocharging and looking for help to select the right turbo to work on the Rotax 1503 engine found in the Sea-doo 260 RTX. The 260 Hp version comes stock with a supercharger that I believe makes about ten lbs of boost. (the same block is available in a 155 hp naturally aspirated engine, so 260 Hp/155 Hp = 1.677 or 68% more power. Sea level pressure is 14.7 PSI, so 14.7 PSI X 68% = 24.65 PSI Absolute - 14.7 = 9.96 PSI of boost.)

I'm planing to eventually use this in an aircraft and I'm looking for a turbo that produces 10 lbs of boost up to 20,000 ft. Spool up time doesn't matter at all as the engine can take five or ten seconds to spin up without complaint. The Borg Warner spreadsheet recommends a 64mm wheel with a 1.05 aspect ratio, but is there any penalty for going bigger in this context? Given the slow smooth throttle movement in this application, turbine waste gate chatter and boging shouldn't be an issue right?

2. Mnlx

This is a 2 stroke?

3. Cozy Mark IV

This is a 4 stroke running 91 octane gas in the supercharged versions. The engine works like this, here's a review of said engine, here's how the oil system works, and how the closed loop cooling system works.
    (Sorry, the link system isn't working, so here are the videos directly):

Can anyone recommend the right turbo for this engine, or offer any advice on the process of choosing?

4. gruntguru