1. The Turbo Forums - The discussion board for both hard core and beginner turbocharged vehicle enthusiasts. Covering everything from stock turbocharger cars, seriously fast drag racers, boats, motorcycles, and daily driver modified turbo cars and trucks.
    To start posting in our forums, and comment on articles and blogs please

IF YOU ARE AN EXISTING MEMBER: You can retrieve your a password for your account here: click here.

What trans to use ?

Discussion in 'Turbo Tech Questions' started by mld54, Feb 13, 2004.

1. mld54

Hello, I am a newbie and want your opinion, I am changing my combo from a Kenne Bell blower to a HP stage two street kit, and thinking about changing the trans.

My car is a 91 LX and was originaly had a T5 it now has a non lockup AOD. The car is mostly used on the street but will see the track, I am shooting for 500 plus hp at the wheels. The question is do you think a auto or standard is better ? and what trans, c4, aod, tko, etc is better, I want the car to be dependable at that hp and because the car will see alot of street use I want to also think about fuel milage. what do you think ?

2. davidl340

My opinion, if you're wanting better track numbers, stick with the auto, think about a transbrake to build some boost off the line. If you still want gas mileage, think about getting a lockup converter.

If more into the street fun stuff, go manual, lot of fun, better gas mileage I would bet.

transmission choice: if you go auto, c4 has no overdrive, but is cheap and dependable, but your gas mileage may suffer do to no overdrive or lockup, AOD is good if you get it built right. As far as manuals go, don't have a clue, heard a lot of good things about the X2C trannies, know my dad has reasearched a lot of things to replace his t5, and he's probably going with the X2C transmission.

3. mld54

Thanks for the reply, I have been looking at the X2C V 1.0, and agree about the fun factor

Anyone else ?

4. rao