1. The Turbo Forums - The discussion board for both hard core and beginner turbocharged vehicle enthusiasts. Covering everything from stock turbocharger cars, seriously fast drag racers, boats, motorcycles, and daily driver modified turbo cars and trucks.
    To start posting in our forums, and comment on articles and blogs please

IF YOU ARE AN EXISTING MEMBER: You can retrieve your a password for your account here: click here.

Oil leaking out from turbo inlet while on dyno & knock?

Discussion in 'Turbo Tech Questions' started by Trade4861, Dec 24, 2012.

1. Trade4861

Ok, so I'm not a turbo expert so I came here to see if someone can help with an issue?

changed my turbo to a Garrett GT3076 dbb a while back and when I went to get dyno tuned I had a bit to much knock (-4.00 deg @ 6,000 rpm) on fresh built motor, head and cams. The guy tuning the car was an expert engine builder, however, for the time I was there we couldn't figure out why the knock. Did a spark plug test and car was prematurely detonating.

What we did notice is that while the car was on the dyno, a bead of oil was coming from within the turbo inlet outward toward filter (while rpm was applied). I also noticed that my air filter (attached directly to the turbo inlet) gets wet with oil. My question is, what is causing this oil issue and could this issue be whats causing the knock problem? For instance, could oil be getting sucked into combustion chamber and causing the knock issue? Sorry again, I'm not an expert. Just trying to figure out this problem for awhile.

Thanks, Jason

2. testchimp

Not sure on the turbo but maybe too high of oil pressure or not a large enough return line?

Oil in the intake will cause it to detonate and ruin the engine pretty quick, so fix the oil issue asap!

3. mustangmanic67

what kind of motor is it? may need an oil restrictor to the turbo feed to keep it from pushing by but the damage may already be done.

4. M&M Turbochargers