1. The Turbo Forums - The discussion board for both hard core and beginner turbocharged vehicle enthusiasts. Covering everything from stock turbocharger cars, seriously fast drag racers, boats, motorcycles, and daily driver modified turbo cars and trucks.
    To start posting in our forums, and comment on articles and blogs please

IF YOU ARE AN EXISTING MEMBER: You can retrieve your a password for your account here: click here.

MSD shenanagains

Discussion in 'Turbo Tech Questions' started by jiler115, Oct 8, 2015.

1. jiler115

So I talked to the guy who I thought was going to dyno my truck and conversation came up about an ignition source.. Explained to him I was going to use the 6al2.. He explained to me at length to stay away from MSD. I'm new to the turbo scene, but I like to think I'm pretty well educated in the car scene. I've never heard anything bad about MSD, he stated that the box was only good for rpms above 4000 rpms and didn't work with idle-4000.

Does this sound strange to anyone? He suggested pertronix or FAST, which I don't believe either company carries a programmable ignition box.

Thanks in advance.

2. Rickracer

I don't know why he would have a problem with MSD, a BUNCH of us have the 6530 box, (myself included, and more folks getting them every day). I have though seriously about doing a MS computer instead of a 6530 on my truck, but mainly because I plan to go EFI one day.

3. Matt Cramer

The whole point of the multi-sparks is to get their sort of ignition working at idle and low RPM.

4. 1985-Dominator

Multiple Spark Discharge (MSD) only works at lower RPM (3K and under if memory serves, might be 3,500) because their simply is not enough time to fire multiple sparks at the higher RPM, so they move to a single strong spark.

5. jiler115