1. The Turbo Forums - The discussion board for both hard core and beginner turbocharged vehicle enthusiasts. Covering everything from stock turbocharger cars, seriously fast drag racers, boats, motorcycles, and daily driver modified turbo cars and trucks.
    To start posting in our forums, and comment on articles and blogs please

IF YOU ARE AN EXISTING MEMBER: You can retrieve your a password for your account here: click here.

390 Holley - 225 Slant 6 - Carb Questions -

Discussion in 'Carburetor + Boost Tech Questions' started by Turbo Slant 6, May 18, 2007.

1. Turbo Slant 6

Hello,

I have just completed putting a small turbo on a Dodge 225 slant 6. This is my first attempt at turbo charging and I have some questions and apologize in advance if the questions may seem stupid but this is all new to me.

The engine fired up right away and with some minor idle adjustments was able to idle but not well and dies when put into gear. I have not had the engine warmed up yet as I live in a residential area with cranky neighbours and have open exhaust out of the turbo still. I have not been able to drive it on the street yet as I still have my front suspension apart but while the car is down would like to do as much pre tuning work as possible. After stumbling across your forum I have as many answered questions as unanswered.

What my intent is to start out small and use this stock engine as a learning tool while being able to upgrade the performance and still retain fuel mileage. I have read about similar setups getting 20 mpg and being able to run 15 second 1/4's.

Here is my setup:

1970 Dodge 225 slant 6 stock. 8.4:1 compression

Offenauser 4 BBL Inatke

Holley 390 CFM Double pumper #6895, 59/59 jets , 6.5 PV (Pri and Secondary), 4 CORNER IDLE 30CC FRONT AND REAR PUMPS, 26 FRONT AND REAR SQUIRTERS, FRONT PLATE 5850 REAR 6118, DRILLED AIR BLEEDS, QUICK FUEL MASTER KIT, MODIFIED APXIED BOOSTERS

Turbo Specs:
    -Model: Garrett/Airesearch TB0335 (T3 Series)