1. The Turbo Forums - The discussion board for both hard core and beginner turbocharged vehicle enthusiasts. Covering everything from stock turbocharger cars, seriously fast drag racers, boats, motorcycles, and daily driver modified turbo cars and trucks.
    To start posting in our forums, and comment on articles and blogs please

IF YOU ARE AN EXISTING MEMBER: You can retrieve your a password for your account here: click here.

Turbine side Size Questions

Discussion in 'Turbo Tech Questions' started by nxcoupe, Mar 11, 2019.

1. nxcoupe

I'm looking at the 2 turbos I have attached. One has a very small turbine wheel and the other has a larger one. I was thinking the larger wheel would have more leverage to spin the compressor wheel, but since I'm no expert on turbo sizing, thought I'd start a discussion so I could learn. Am I completely offbase? Both are the same ar housing, but the spread is wider between exducer and inducer on the bigger wheel. Screenshot_2019-03-09-23-26-41.png #ad
    Screenshot_2019-03-09-20-26-54.png #ad

724QuikFast likes this.
  2. B E N

I think the larger wheel is only going to be a benefit if your pushing enough gas to feed it, you should be able to run a lower pressure ratio. The smaller wheel should spool faster, but will have a higher pressure ratio. What are these for?

3. nxcoupe

My 2.5L. I'm more interested in understanding the relationship between the turbine size and how that affects the system.

4. B E N

Ican't find the formula off hand but you can use the matchbot calculator to play with this. Ultimately you'll have to have displacement, rpm and volumetric efficiency nailed down to know exactly what you need, or trial and error will work too.

From my limited first hand experience: