1. The Turbo Forums - The discussion board for both hard core and beginner turbocharged vehicle enthusiasts. Covering everything from stock turbocharger cars, seriously fast drag racers, boats, motorcycles, and daily driver modified turbo cars and trucks.
    To start posting in our forums, and comment on articles and blogs please

IF YOU ARE AN EXISTING MEMBER: You can retrieve your a password for your account here: click here.

Injector placement in tunnel ram

Discussion in 'Advanced Tech Section' started by Jwright, May 8, 2016.

1. Jwright

Hi guys, I'm new to turbos and efi but have a question I'm hoping someone can help me with. I'm building a 56 Chev gasser with a BBC and twin turbos, I want to use one of my tunnel Rams on it and convert it to efi. I want the tunnel because they look cooler and bit more like a gasser than single plane would.
    i know most times the injector is placed pointing towards the valve, but am I able to run them up the top where my finger is pointing? ( hopefully pics work). I'm looking for some where between 700 and 800hp at the crank.
    i have read the old posts where it says the injector being to high ruins idle and power under 1800rpm, but also that having the injector facing air flow could increase better distribution of fuel.
    Like I say this is new to me, but if the engine is boosted wouldn't the fuel be forced down the runners no matter where the injector was placed? And how does a carb supply enough fuel to run low rpm on a tunnel ram if it's squirting small amounts from the top.
    thank you for any help.
    Jason

image.jpg #ad

image.jpg #ad

image.jpg #ad

image.jpg #ad

2. VR4drive92

Hello Jason!

Well, I won't say that it will not work, but I do have a few questions on the position.

Will the injector be mounted perpendicular to the center line of the inlet hole? So, will it look like your picture with your finger?

How far into the air stream will it penetrate?