1. The Turbo Forums - The discussion board for both hard core and beginner turbocharged vehicle enthusiasts. Covering everything from stock turbocharger cars, seriously fast drag racers, boats, motorcycles, and daily driver modified turbo cars and trucks.
    To start posting in our forums, and comment on articles and blogs please

IF YOU ARE AN EXISTING MEMBER: You can retrieve your a password for your account here: click here.

Having starter issues please help

Discussion in 'Non-Turbo Tech questions' started by sandbum, Aug 27, 2014.

1. sandbum

Just alittle background, i was a automotive mechanic for 6 years, and have worked for chrysler as a engineer for 2 years now, im 25. I got out of cars for awhile while my wife was going to school 6 year radiography program.

Anyways, i picked up a roller friday night, its still in primer and the seals on the windows are out so there was water inside the door panels. the car was not takin care of and needs a lot of work, but deff got a good deal, and its a car.

i installed a 306 ford motor, going with a gt45, the motor and kit are all fabbed up. its ready to fire and i go to turn the key.... click click click.

i think of the possible causes, IE: bad ground, voltage, grounding out, faulty solenoid.

So far i replaced, starter wire from starter to solenoid, added ground from chassis to motor, motors to frame, main battery ground to chassis, removed power switch, etc etc.

The Only way i can get the starter to start is, by using the battery outside of car and running jumper cables, one to motor, and one to "power wire and touching the starter wire (one wire starter) with the power wire. heres where it gets weird, if i only put the starter wire and wire from battery to soleoid and try "juming" with a screw driver, NOTHING just arcs. i had the starter tested at autozone and tested fine, also installed a second spare starter with same results.