1. The Turbo Forums - The discussion board for both hard core and beginner turbocharged vehicle enthusiasts. Covering everything from stock turbocharger cars, seriously fast drag racers, boats, motorcycles, and daily driver modified turbo cars and trucks.
    To start posting in our forums, and comment on articles and blogs please

IF YOU ARE AN EXISTING MEMBER: You can retrieve your a password for your account here: click here.

Ambitious Boxster Audi V8 Twin turbo questions

Discussion in 'Turbo Tech Questions' started by 02stu, Sep 22, 2020.

1. 02stu

I’m new to turbos but have been doing a tremendous amount of research and have some questions on my plan.

The goal: The engine is going into a dedicated race car, reliability is the only goal.

The engine: Audi 4.2l ABZ engine, popular choice for turbo builds. It’s a strong motor, has piston squirters and has been used on several 1,000+hp builds with stock internals.

the plan:

exhaust manifold: I’ve heard Long equal length headers will decrease detonation risk so I’m going to an extreme and using long jet boat headers (please see image below) to try and maximize this benefit. I know that I’ll increase lag but I’m hoping the air to water intercooler I’m using with about two feet of piping total will help compensate for this. (First question, there isn’t a lot of research of long tube turbo manifolds, is there something I’m not thinking of?)

Intercooler: as stated above I’m planning on using a air to water intercooler. This is a track car so heat manage is key. I’m using the planning on using the biggest cooler I can find, it’s for 1,500hp+ applications but the pressure drop with liquid to air is supposed to be 1/20th of an air to air cooler so I’m assuming there isn’t much of a penalty for going big (is this true?). I’m using two large radiators to cool the water.