1. The Turbo Forums - The discussion board for both hard core and beginner turbocharged vehicle enthusiasts. Covering everything from stock turbocharger cars, seriously fast drag racers, boats, motorcycles, and daily driver modified turbo cars and trucks.
    To start posting in our forums, and comment on articles and blogs please

IF YOU ARE AN EXISTING MEMBER: You can retrieve your a password for your account here: click here.

89 Blazer SBC w/ S400 build

Discussion in 'The Turbo "Builds" Board' started by wannaboost, Jul 10, 2007.

1. wannaboost

Well, I've been reading and researching for close to a year now, so I've finally decided what I wanted to build. It's an 89 2wd 4.3 Blazer I picked up this past weekend. I plan to do a SBC swap with an S400. The engine will be out tomorrow and fabbing will begin asap. This will likely be a long build because this is my first turbo build and I'm still learning. Here's a couple of pics.
    [​IMG]#ad

[​IMG]#ad

[​IMG]#ad

2. flyinhillbilly

10 second blazers are cool. :2thumbs: you will LOVE that s 400.

3. blownbluebird

hows the build coming? any pics of the progress?

4. wannaboost

Sorry to dig up my old thread, but I figured it would be better than starting a new one. There has been nothing done on the build at all until now. I let myself get distracted with several things such as back surgery, starting a side business (breeding reptiles and feeders), and changing jobs... :bang:
    Anyway, I have decided to swap in the engine from my 88 s-10 truck for now. Both engines are out and will have the "new" one in likely this week. The engine is a 4 bolt 350 TBI (355) with less than 8000 miles on it since we rebuilt it, however the rebuild was done in '98. I don't remember the specs on all of the internals we used, but I know nothing was forged. The pistons are flat tops and the stock TBI heads were shaved a bit more than necessary. Intake and tb are stock as well.