1. The Turbo Forums - The discussion board for both hard core and beginner turbocharged vehicle enthusiasts. Covering everything from stock turbocharger cars, seriously fast drag racers, boats, motorcycles, and daily driver modified turbo cars and trucks.
    To start posting in our forums, and comment on articles and blogs please

IF YOU ARE AN EXISTING MEMBER: You can retrieve your a password for your account here: click here.

Why do you need an aftermarket ignition box when doing a t4mo to a9l conversion?

Discussion in 'EFI Tuning Questions and Engine Management' started by smokehouse, Nov 12, 2014.

1. smokehouse

I am building a shit box and want to stick a a9l ecu in my 95 because its cheap, I'm cheap, and the cars cheap. I could do the mail order tune, but from the research I am doing this a9l swap is as cheap as it gets. Remaned a9l's are around 100 bucks and I am a mechanic and do alot of wiring repairs, pin outs, ect for a living so it sounds like it would take me an hour to do the repin and I have a few fan controllers sitting here. Mail order chips are 200+ and you have to get a new one done every time you do anything to the car and it sounds like alot of people make alot of power with a9l's without tunes(maybe a MAF extender). So my question is why do you need an aftermarket ignition box? I can't find any definative answers on the net and don't get why you would? I don't care that the t4mo is better the problem is it needs messed with to work and I don't have the time or money for that right now.

2. Matt Cramer

I presume this is a turbo build.