1. The Turbo Forums - The discussion board for both hard core and beginner turbocharged vehicle enthusiasts. Covering everything from stock turbocharger cars, seriously fast drag racers, boats, motorcycles, and daily driver modified turbo cars and trucks.
    To start posting in our forums, and comment on articles and blogs please

IF YOU ARE AN EXISTING MEMBER: You can retrieve your a password for your account here: click here.

2000 Ford Explorer 5.0 and rear mount turbo build ideas

Discussion in 'DIY and Junkyard Turbo Tech' started by Dono2, Sep 30, 2013.

1. Dono2

Hi guys,
    Im new to the turbo world.
    I did a M90 supercharger on my 6cyl Ford Explorer, but ran in to issues as I couldn't fit an intercooler in between the motor and supercharger. This is just info so everyone here knows that I already understand I need Injectors, Maf, fuel pump, tuning, etc.

I have decided to go rear mount, as I can't easily re-locate the battery to the back cab area of my truck as I'm concerned about fumes, and safety of a battery inside the cabin.

The motor is a stock 5.0 motor with 1.6 rockers installed and an opened up exhaust.
    I'll be keeping the muffler, and the turbo will be going where the spare tire was. This should keep the truck really quiet (Theres a drone to it right now, so I'm looking forward to it being quieter.

Turbo specs:
    4inch cold inlet, 2.5 inch outlet 72mm turbine got the f1-68 compressor blade, 3 inch exhaust outlet, t4, journal bearing. Also, see compressor map attached.

So, here we go.

First, the victim and the turbo.

2000 Ford Explorer.jpg #ad

Turbo pic.jpg #ad

Turbo compressor map.gif #ad

Last edited: Sep 30, 2013
  2. Dono2

Now, the next issue is oil routing.