1. The Turbo Forums - The discussion board for both hard core and beginner turbocharged vehicle enthusiasts. Covering everything from stock turbocharger cars, seriously fast drag racers, boats, motorcycles, and daily driver modified turbo cars and trucks.
    To start posting in our forums, and comment on articles and blogs please

IF YOU ARE AN EXISTING MEMBER: You can retrieve your a password for your account here: click here.

Conrod strength in turbo application

Discussion in 'Turbo Tech Questions' started by TK, Jan 15, 2008.

1. TK

I'm a Australian newb here so go easy!

I'm currently running a 383 holden (for all intents & purposes think 383 sbc) with a pair of hi-flowed VG30 nissan T3's.

The oportunity has come up to possibly score a pair of garret GT35's dirt cheap - which is all well & good & will make a bunch more power than I've got now, but strength of the conrods may become an issue.

Rods are Scat I beam 5.7" with 3/8 arp capscrews & bushed small ends - just you're basic budget steel rods.
    Rev's will be kept under 6500rpm.
    I'm looking to make around the 800hp mark with the new turbos - after that the integrity of the mains & crank may become an issue, so I'll leave it at that for a while.

Has anyone used the basic scat rods in a similar application?
    If so, any failures?

I wouldn't even think about using these rods in a high rpm NA application, but with conservative revs I think they'd stand a better chance - but I'd rather know someone else has been there & proven their strength before I risk my motor with them.

Cheers for any input guys, I gained a lot of insight into twin turbo setups from here while I was doing the original build.

TK

2. fastranger347

you'll rip the main caps out before you will hurt those rods

3. TK

I can keep the mains in the block - the ol holdens are a bit tougher than a 2-bolt chev in the mains department.

Have you used those rods in a turbo motor? - shoulda mentioned, they are chev rods.