1. The Turbo Forums - The discussion board for both hard core and beginner turbocharged vehicle enthusiasts. Covering everything from stock turbocharger cars, seriously fast drag racers, boats, motorcycles, and daily driver modified turbo cars and trucks.
    To start posting in our forums, and comment on articles and blogs please

IF YOU ARE AN EXISTING MEMBER: You can retrieve your a password for your account here: click here.

Compression ratios/boost

Discussion in 'Turbo Tech Questions' started by Madmac, Nov 7, 2019.

1. Madmac

I'm having a tough time wrapping my head around all of this cause I'm very new to forced induction applications. So if I shoot for lower compression I can run more boost, but how much? At first for my build I was only wanting to run about 12 psi. But I have the chance to get some 95cc combustion chambered heads that would drop my compression to 8:1. I guess what I'm looking for is a way to find out with compression ratio+boost what would be my new compression ratio under a different psi. Also was wondering if the information I put into the compression calculator looks correct. I have no heads for my engine. So that's why the combustion chamber for the heads change.

Screenshot_20191104-174453_Chrome.jpg #ad

Screenshot_20191104-174430_Chrome.jpg #ad

Screenshot_20191104-174530_Chrome.jpg #ad

2. ss496

Madmac likes this.
  3. Madmac

4. ss496

5. B E N

https://www.rbracing-rsr.com/compression.htm

With your cubes it probably doesn't matter too much, if you've got good heads and some stall you will make plenty of power off boost unless the car is really heavy. Turbocharging largely negates the need for a quench zone so your good there too. Your not at a high altitude, so your not paying a major penalty for the moderate CR. The 460's absolutely chug gas, a little more compression might help this but in the grand scheme of things going up a few percent at 8 MPG isn't going to matter much.