1. The Turbo Forums - The discussion board for both hard core and beginner turbocharged vehicle enthusiasts. Covering everything from stock turbocharger cars, seriously fast drag racers, boats, motorcycles, and daily driver modified turbo cars and trucks.
    To start posting in our forums, and comment on articles and blogs please

IF YOU ARE AN EXISTING MEMBER: You can retrieve your a password for your account here: click here.

Cometic HG pushed into coolant jacket? Common?

Discussion in 'Turbo Tech Questions' started by Forcefed86, Sep 23, 2012.

1. Forcefed86

I've been running this setup at around 30-34 psi for 2 years now without issue. I think I had an fueling problem. I had more of the E85 Goo on the #1 cylinder injector than any of the others. I battle that E85 gunk alot here in KS. I was hoping the build up of goo wouldn't accumulate with the e50. I was wrong!

Also I had just filled up at a blender station with e50. May have gotten some bad fuel. The car started misfiring in boost and seeing knock spikes around 20psi. I let off quickly and think I managed to save the motor. Started to get hot shortly after. You can see where the HG was being pushed out into a coolant jacket. Also distorted pretty badly. Is this common to push a gasket like this? Or does it look like I may have a warped head or deck? Was using ARP studs torqued to 70 ft lbs w/ 30wt oil.

I believe this is a cometic gasket? Not sure 100% it was new and still in the package. Got it in trade along with many other parts. I think i'll go with the OEM MLS gasket this time around. Maybe even a factory graphite type.

Anyway here is the carnage... enjoy.

2. BoostedBadBoy