1. The Turbo Forums - The discussion board for both hard core and beginner turbocharged vehicle enthusiasts. Covering everything from stock turbocharger cars, seriously fast drag racers, boats, motorcycles, and daily driver modified turbo cars and trucks.
    To start posting in our forums, and comment on articles and blogs please

IF YOU ARE AN EXISTING MEMBER: You can retrieve your a password for your account here: click here.

Cheap and easy upgrade for a Garret T250 - Land Rover 300tdi engine

Discussion in 'Newbie and Basic Turbo Tech Forum' started by johnkbl, Jun 27, 2016.

1. johnkbl

Hello Guys!

I am new here and thanks in advance for all those who will provide support to me.

I have been working for several months in finishing my project which started several years ago. I started buying a V8 1994 Discovery, which had engine problems and then I installed a 300tdi diesel engine. The car was slow to start moving but as soon as the turbo engaged, the performance was better. It was slow also going uphill. I used an automatic gearbox which was included when I purchased the engine.

After fighting a lot with corrosion, I decided to send to the trash the chassis and body of the Discovery and purchased a 2003 Disco without engine (that was about 3 years ago!). The engine swapping process started about 2 years ago and I had the car parked in my house due to time restrictions. I started working on it again several months ago because I nave now 4 kids and need a 7 seater car. I purchased the 3rd row kit and it is already installed in the car.

Right now the engine is installed and I have already driven the car a couple of times around the city but since the weight of the new chassis and body is similar to the old one.

The "official" thread of my project is here (it is in spanish, I live outside of the US):

http://www.4x4guatemala.com/foro2/v...=Roverta&sid=bc90e9cb8e05bb7a3e72581dece72dc4