1. The Turbo Forums - The discussion board for both hard core and beginner turbocharged vehicle enthusiasts. Covering everything from stock turbocharger cars, seriously fast drag racers, boats, motorcycles, and daily driver modified turbo cars and trucks.
    To start posting in our forums, and comment on articles and blogs please

IF YOU ARE AN EXISTING MEMBER: You can retrieve your a password for your account here: click here.

turbine sizing and engine delta P

Discussion in 'Turbo Tech Questions' started by Ike84, Mar 26, 2021.

1. Ike84

for my next $500 question...

in trying to properly size a turbine for my application, I need help with engine delta P. I understand the theory but I have no real world experience with it.

my goal for this project is steady 5lbs of boost from as early as possible to redline, with most driving happening between 3k - 4.5k, with 4k - 6k being where i really want the power.

using BW matchbot, a 57 or 58mm turbine wheel will let me generate 5 psi around 2500 rpm, which is fantastic! except that past 5500 rpm my engine delta P starts to drop with my 6000 rpm value being -1 and at redline it is -2.

a larger turbine wheel (64, 67, 70) will keep that delta p to positive numbers to 5000k and then 0 to redline, but I am obviously sacrificing my early boost to about 3000 - 3500rpm.

so, my question is this: is -1/-2 delta p enough to start to hurt exhaust scavenging and cause power losses due to the recirculation of exhaust back into the cylinder during valve overlap, which on my engine advances significantly at 5500rpm (just past where the smaller turbine wheel pushes delta p negative).

as always, comments and criticisms welcome.

best,
    ike

btw, i swear i will start contributing back to the forum when i have enough knowledge to help someone lol

2. B E N

So is there an engine that belongs with this turbo, or a vehicle, or an application?