1. The Turbo Forums - The discussion board for both hard core and beginner turbocharged vehicle enthusiasts. Covering everything from stock turbocharger cars, seriously fast drag racers, boats, motorcycles, and daily driver modified turbo cars and trucks.
    To start posting in our forums, and comment on articles and blogs please

IF YOU ARE AN EXISTING MEMBER: You can retrieve your a password for your account here: click here.

Buick Grand National Turbochager

Discussion in 'Turbo Tech Questions' started by 83 Turbostang, Dec 13, 2003.

1. 83 Turbostang

:hammer:
    Hi, everybody im a newbie to this forum if you dont already know.
    Any way on to the question I was wondering if anybody knew what size the Grand National turbo is? I would like to put 2 of these on a 351W. Are those turbos too big? I have looked every where to try and find the size that they are but none of their web site's have any info on the stock turbo size.
    Thanks for the help

2. dman

2 of those would work perfectly. they can support about 400hp per turbo..

do a search, i'm sure this subject has been covered.

3. PEARL MUSSIN

The GN turbo is kinda of like a T3/T4 Hybrid... They are good turbos and can be had fairly cheap. Look on buick G/N sites for them.. Turbostangman had them on his car for a while I think...

Jeremy

4. 240power

Only thing I don't like about running GN turbos is they use a 3-bolt housing so if you ever want to go bigger you'd have to change your flanges or keep the same 3-bolt housing, which doesn't flow as good as the 4-bolt housings.

5. dman

the 3 bolt housings don't flow as much as 4 bolt but there are quite a few 9 second turbo regals running single 3 bolt turbos!! so i'm sure when your ready to upgrade you can plop on some TE44's (575hp each), which can be bought on turbobuick.com used all day for 400-500 bucks, and make well over 1000hp.

6. cp5899