1. The Turbo Forums - The discussion board for both hard core and beginner turbocharged vehicle enthusiasts. Covering everything from stock turbocharger cars, seriously fast drag racers, boats, motorcycles, and daily driver modified turbo cars and trucks.
    To start posting in our forums, and comment on articles and blogs please

IF YOU ARE AN EXISTING MEMBER: You can retrieve your a password for your account here: click here.

"Big Red" 5.3 MPT-70 Regal (updated 11/25/09 almost finished)

Discussion in 'LS1, LS2, LS6, LT1, SBC Turbo and other GM Specfic Turbo Tech' started by topher455, Aug 27, 2008.

1. topher455

"Big Red" 5.3 MPT-70 Regal (updated 11/25/09 almost finished)

Ive been building my car for about 3 years now and since its getting close I figured I'd start a thread. I put it in the GM section after Id seen a couple of other guys do it and got better feedback that way. I hope its ok. Ive had several different engine and trans plans for the car including SBC BBB and an n/a LQ9 with a T-56 but finally decided on a T-6 turboed 5.3 backed by a built TH-400. I would like to thank everyone here for their patience and knowledge and I would like to help other members in return so if you would like to see different shots or more details of anything I have posted feel free to ask. I honestly have about 800 pics of the buildup process. Heres the specs for the car.

86 Buick Regal
    Boxed, Crossmembered, and Gusseted frame
    Global west A arms
    12" B body police brakes
    GN sway bar
    8.8 Disc brake Ford rear welded and braced 3.08 gears
    TRZ rear suspension double adjustable upper and lowers
    Hotchkis chassis braces
    Bilstien shocks all the way around

5.3 Truck motor installed with 1.5" setback and 1" lower in chassis
    ARP rod bolts and head studs
    Hand ported stock 5.3 heads
    02 Z06 cam
    Double roller timing chain
    Manley pushrods 7.425"
    GM single plane carbed intake
    Holley 700 cfm carb (converted to blow thru)