1. The Turbo Forums - The discussion board for both hard core and beginner turbocharged vehicle enthusiasts. Covering everything from stock turbocharger cars, seriously fast drag racers, boats, motorcycles, and daily driver modified turbo cars and trucks.
    To start posting in our forums, and comment on articles and blogs please

IF YOU ARE AN EXISTING MEMBER: You can retrieve your a password for your account here: click here.

Help with WOT boost surge/compressor stall

Discussion in 'Turbo Tech Questions' started by AdamCelicaST205, Sep 6, 2014.

1. AdamCelicaST205

Bit of a newbie here but I guess this is the right place to ask about my problems I am having.

First of all I have a ST205 model Toyota Celica GT-Four that is my weekend/track car. Your typical rally car, awd, 2 litre, turbocharged job. I recently had a blown turbo thanks to the fragile ceramic turbine. Had the turbo rebuilt which is based on a Toyota CT26 unit which is used on many Toyota vehicles of the time ranging from Land Cruisers to Supras.

I ended up with a Turbo Technics Hybrid turbo which was their latest revision with a bigger compressor wheel (66mm to 70mm) which is also billet. This is where my problems started.

Once fitting the turbo it became apparent that I was surging from 4.5k to 5k rpm but absolutely fine before and after that rpm range. I tried many things like removing boost solenoid, removing dump valve, checking for leaks etc etc. What I did discover is that my boost surge disappeared when I removed my entire intake piping ans filter . From my understanding boost surge is too much air that the engine can eat in laymans terms but by removing my intake it seems to have shown that I am starving my compressor wheel of air? Can that happen?

[​IMG]#ad