1. The Turbo Forums - The discussion board for both hard core and beginner turbocharged vehicle enthusiasts. Covering everything from stock turbocharger cars, seriously fast drag racers, boats, motorcycles, and daily driver modified turbo cars and trucks.
    To start posting in our forums, and comment on articles and blogs please

IF YOU ARE AN EXISTING MEMBER: You can retrieve your a password for your account here: click here.

Advice needed for remote turbo set-up.

Discussion in 'Turbo Tech Questions' started by Fishtail, Sep 28, 2021.

1. Fishtail

Greetings!

Newbie here, this is my first post, so I thought I'd give you a brief introduction followed by advice needed. I'll try to keep it short as not to bore you all.

I have a 1996 Ford Econoline E350 with a 460 lump in it (profile pic) I've always had a passion for big blocks and have done numerous projects in the past. I'm not by any means a professional, but I do know my way around an engine. Born and bred in London, I now find myself living in Uzbekistan of all places, which is where I found this Econoline, been here for 9 years and it's the only American motor I've seen out here, let alone up for sale, so I grabbed it.

Anyway enough of that here's the deal.. This Econoline is a project for my young son and me. I am looking to install a remote Turbo. I am starting from scratch and have no knowledge of Turbos at all. It's just something I never dealt with before. I only know the absolute basics. I have researched what I can online and watched countless Youtube videos, but no one seems to have done this conversion before on an Econoline.

And I can understand why, things are pretty damn tight under the hood, In fact, everywhere is tight. There is however good clearance under the vehicle, which is why I have chosen to use a remote location. The stock manifolds, downpipes, and driver's side cross-over pipe seem to lead to a promising looking location for a turbo (see attachment).