1. The Turbo Forums - The discussion board for both hard core and beginner turbocharged vehicle enthusiasts. Covering everything from stock turbocharger cars, seriously fast drag racers, boats, motorcycles, and daily driver modified turbo cars and trucks.
    To start posting in our forums, and comment on articles and blogs please

IF YOU ARE AN EXISTING MEMBER: You can retrieve your a password for your account here: click here.

4.5 ltr mercedes m117 turbo drift car project

Discussion in 'Turbo Tech Questions' started by rwd4evr, Jan 9, 2018.

1. rwd4evr

Hi everyone! i've got a 1978 mercedes C107 chassis 450slc drift car ive been building, i have a small vintage mercedes parts business and boneyard with about 30 1960-90 mercedes. So i have the parts to build the car for next to nothing at this point. I'm an equipment mechanic and been messing with all manner of cars, as long as they are rear wheel drive, for 30 years or so. fabrication is not an issue for me.
    The car is a four speed manual conversion with a welded 3.69 diff. I've done some suspension work and have it working pretty good, still need some nice coilovers to really dial it in though. problem is anything over 55 or so and third gear it just doesnt have the stones to keep tires burning. This is my first event with the car video, end of the straight (when i didnt miss a shift) it was at redline in second so it was ok, but its like 55-60 at 6100 rpm.

The engine is a stock 4.5 ltr m117 mercedes v8 with fully mechanical bosch k-jetronic Constant Injection System (or CIS as many know it). lots of european cars used it from 74 up to the 90's, including the monster and last to use it, porsche 911(930) turbo. If you have 20 min to kill here's the gist of how it works.