1. The Turbo Forums - The discussion board for both hard core and beginner turbocharged vehicle enthusiasts. Covering everything from stock turbocharger cars, seriously fast drag racers, boats, motorcycles, and daily driver modified turbo cars and trucks.
    To start posting in our forums, and comment on articles and blogs please

IF YOU ARE AN EXISTING MEMBER: You can retrieve your a password for your account here: click here.

2001 psd mods?

Discussion in 'Turbo Diesel Forum' started by fastforward, Jun 8, 2009.

1. fastforward

hi. im new to the diesel area. i have an 01 f350 7.3 diesel. what are the cheapest mods to do to gain some more power, like filter, exhaust, programmer? im looking on superchips web site and looks like same part numbers for 99-08 diesels. is that true?

also what is the biggest tire i can fit on my truck with out lifting it? its stock height fo now. i have a new set of tires and wheels that came off my womans excursion, tires are 315/75/16
    thanks

2. 93PONY

Cold air box/kit is always good.
    I'd highly recommend a large exhaust system with straight-thru muffler. I run the 5" Jegs kit & love it.

For programers..... I had an Edge Juice w/attitude monitor that was great. Better fuel economy & a true (dyno proven) 80RWHP gain on the 75hp setting. You will get a check engine light with these piggyback programmers. I removed the Edge & am selling it since I'm an SCT tuner & have an equivilant (power & fuel economy wise) program in the truck now. No need to stack them both.

You can hook up a boost guage (once the programmer, intake, & exhaust are installed) & check how much boost you're getting. The stock wastegate actuator rod is dowled (so you can't adjust it), but you can drill out the dowl & manually tighten the actuator rod to increase boost a little bit. (I wouldn't go more than 24-25psi MAX in stock trim)

In stock form (+cold air box) my 01 PSD made 186RWHP (Tq could not be measured) & got ~16-17mpg on the Highway. 15 in town.