1. The Turbo Forums - The discussion board for both hard core and beginner turbocharged vehicle enthusiasts. Covering everything from stock turbocharger cars, seriously fast drag racers, boats, motorcycles, and daily driver modified turbo cars and trucks.
    To start posting in our forums, and comment on articles and blogs please

IF YOU ARE AN EXISTING MEMBER: You can retrieve your a password for your account here: click here.

1972 nova big block 106mm first attempt at building headers

Discussion in 'The Turbo "Builds" Board' started by Jess, Feb 26, 2011.

1. Jess

Well I had started a build thread a few years ago and then life kids and school took over. Well I found some time and money to build the hotside and headers.

This is my first attempt at building a set of headers. The welds could be cleaner, but overall I am pleased so far

turbo headers resize 001.jpg #ad

turbo headers resize 002.jpg #ad

turbo headers resize 003.jpg #ad

turbo headers resize 004.jpg #ad

turbo headers resize 006.jpg #ad

turbo headers resize 007.jpg #ad

turbo headers resize 008.jpg #ad

turbo headers resize 009.jpg #ad

2. TTAWD

Attempt hell, you almost got one side done!!!
    Looking damn good for your first set. :2thumbs: :cheers:

3. Jess

Hey thanks man! I just fixed a broken liner in my welder and figured I need the practice :D

4. watahyahknow

practice away , nice job sofar

5. quik67

Looks great !
    When I built my set I had problems with the coating that comes
    on the tubing. I used lacquer thinner and a wire wheel on my grinder to get the weld joints clean
    down to the base metal . I also pre-heated my tubing with a small torch, not red hot, just a little heat, this will also help with cold starts
    on your wire.

6. Jess